Ohtsu

Ohtsu ST5000 Reviews & Ratings

out of 5
  • Dry
    4.6 out of 5
  • Wet
    4.3 out of 5
  • Winter
    4.2 out of 5
  • Comfort
    4.6 out of 5
  • Noise
    4.3 out of 5
  • Treadwear
    4.3 out of 5
  • Would you buy again?84%

19 reviews

19 on SimpleTire
Arthur
Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2014 LT
Verified Customer
Aug 11, 2022

A little aggressive for a highway tire but that's what I wanted. A aggressive highway tire that I can take down the fishing trail. These tires are very capable also they look good.

Stephanie
Verified Customer
Jul 22, 2020

And thank you for sending the tires on time if I were to have gone to Les Schwab I would have paid 700 some dollars for my 4 tires, I'm a single mother of 3 I drive a hundred miles a day try to put food on the table and try to dress my kids and I just want to say thank you for making a affordable for those who can't afford high priced tires. God bless 🙏

Michael
Verified Customer
Mar 12, 2020

Overall very satisfied with the tire but sidewall can use more ply rating since one of my front tire sidewall was damaged when it slightly nicked the curb

tom
Verified Customer
Feb 2, 2020

I have a Jeep ZJ and a 08 Durango fitted with these tires. Used All year round in Northern Michigan .There is nothing better out there period for a SUV tire for year round use. Snow traction is not as good as a dedicated snow tire but not bad by any definition. Im on my second set on both vehicles... Buy them you will not be disappointed

JJ
Verified Customer
Jan 16, 2020

I have driven a lot of vehicles, different makes, types. These tires are excellent!! I have a wk Cherokee hemi, so far about 400 miles, tires are super quiet. Also plus sized 2 inches and was expecting a tooth loosening ride, and its actually almost the same as the stock 18"s. Overall handling feels tight, and I've driven in a rain a few times, truck feels glued to the road. Haven't had the chance to drive in snow (NorthEast) but I probably will soon, I'll update then. I want to buy another set and another for a performance vehicle I have. They are a steal, try some

Richard W
Verified Customer
Jan 12, 2020

Replaced Falken ZIEX/STZ with 4 of these. The look enhances my 88 Wrangler. They run as quietly as the previous sister tires. Got 6 years run time out of them. Mine aged 2 years in a warehouse before I got them. Fantastic cure time on tread cap. Looking forward to many happy adventures with them. Quick shipping as before on previous orders. haven't seen snow yet, but seeing this is the same tread pattern as my old tires, I expect the same satisfactory results.

BKMDXER
Verified Customer
Dec 20, 2018

This is my second set of Ohtsu ST5000 255/55R-18's on a 2012 Acura MDX. I use these for low miles city driving and occasional long drives in wet/snowy weather (4-5 trips/year) and less often on muddy unfinished roads (2-3 times/yr). I think these tires represent the most bang for your buck you can get in an all weather performance tire on a daily driver SUV. If you've done the research you'll know these are identical tires to the now retired Falken Ziex S-TZ04, made by the same manufacturer. I think there is no compromise in highway ride quality and performance compared to premium brand All-Season Touring and Performance SUV tires. These are grippy, well tempered, well engineered, high performance, high quality all-season tires. If you care most about tread life and trying to eak out mileage from your tire choice (I'm skeptical that there's much to measure here here unless you commute hundreds of miles per day) then you may want to look elsewhere. If you do mostly suburban and city driving and want a fantastic all-around tire that will get you out of occasional snow or mud, I don't think you can do much better at any price. Pros: low price (under $100 each, plus road hazard warranty) cold weather, dry performance, wet performance, low noise, mud and snow performance, appearance. Cons: Brand recognition, availability, only one year road hazard available from ST, potentially less than optimal tread wear. I'm not sure about: weight, rolling resistance or gas mileage. These are not big factors for me, but there doesn't seem to be much info or testing out there for these tires.

David
Verified Customer
Sep 25, 2018

Excellent tread design for light truck or heavy suv. Installed on a 2015 jeep SRT. Zero hydroplaning. Excellent ride. A hard rubber may be apt to slip more on wet but have not tested this. They won't hydroplane with this tread design. They can be heard but are not a loud tire.

Jon
Verified Customer
Sep 25, 2018

Great tire at a great price

Anonymous
Verified Customer
Sep 25, 2018