Sumitomo

Sumitomo Encounter HT Reviews & Ratings

out of 5
  • Dry
    4.6 out of 5
  • Wet
    4.5 out of 5
  • Winter
    4.2 out of 5
  • Comfort
    4.4 out of 5
  • Noise
    4.4 out of 5
  • Treadwear
    4.8 out of 5
  • Would you buy again?86%

273 reviews

36 on SimpleTire237 from Google Shopping
F.
RAM 1500 2014 Express
Verified Customer
Aug 28, 2022

So far so good. Have driven through monsoon rain at highway speeds and not a wobble. Ride is quite. Cornering is confident. Happy with the purchase at this point.

Logan
Ford F-250 XLT Lariat 1992 4x4 (GVWR 8600)
Verified Customer
Jun 19, 2022

Very nice tires i live in alaska always wet or icy these handle very good on ice almost as good as blizzak tires which is crazy on my 97 f250 they held up one wreck in the persons truck i got em from and then in one my wrecks and now on my new 1992 7.3 f250 and have ran over glass countless times and over 6,000 miles on em and they still look as new as the came from the store

Jason
Verified Customer
Sep 17, 2020

I've been very pleased with these tires on my Ram 1500. Treadwear is awesome, quiet. Would purchase again if available.

James
Verified Customer
Aug 29, 2020

I am very well satisfied with these tires. I had them installed on my 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500. The price was incredible and shipping and installation went without a hitch. I am retired and don't drive that many miles but I use my truck to run errands, haul anything from wood to broken concrete and tow my 21' boat down the highway. Since I live in South Louisiana I can't rate the tires on winter traction but have had no problems in wet or dry conditions with or without my boat behind me. When it is time to replace these tires I will shop for them at Simple Tire again.

Keih
Verified Customer
Aug 16, 2020

These tires are way better than I had expected

Keith
Verified Customer
Jul 15, 2020

These tires have held up good so far I'm very pleased with them.

Richard
Verified Customer
Mar 14, 2020

I bought a set of four new tires SUMITOMO Encounter HT 265/70R16 112T and had them installed on my 2011 Frontier truck. The first couple weeks they rode great then developed a noisy gallop sound along with the galloping ride. I ran these tires for a total of 21000 miles and had them balanced 8 times. None of the tires places could balance the two rear tires. I even took my truck to the nissan dealer and paid for diagnostic testing to determine where the galloping was coming from. Two of the tire stores suggested replacement along with the dealer. This morning I went to the only tire store that did three and a half hours work for free and bought a new set of michelin tires that cost $917 out the door. If you consider what I spent for the four sumitomo tires and 7 balance jobs running from 56 to 150 at the dealer the new Michelin were a good deal. The truck now rides like new again. I will never ever buy an off brand tire again!

Cosmo
Verified Customer
Feb 25, 2020

Tires are great and the price is just as well! Try them you won't be disappointed! I did my homework I own a 2015 dodge ram hemi had Goodyear Factory good tire when thru two set with only 70,000 miles. So decided to change the Sumitomo Encounter, so far good!

Pedro
Verified Customer
Oct 15, 2019

Got these for an 05 Ford F-150 and had them for awhile and I thought it'll be time for a review. I must I say, I am wowed at these tyres. Like I cannot believe how much a truck ride so much better now, we've been tyre searching for our family truck after realising that the previous tyres were worn out and needed to be replaced. I told my parents about this site and found these tire but sadly didn't buy it here, but got them somewhere else. Now with the tyres I like how much smoother and quieter the ride is now and handling has improved thanks to these rubbers and I hope they'll last long and will want to see how they'll do in winter since it's approaching.

Heather
Verified Customer
Aug 22, 2019

(2016 Toyota 4Runner) I've had my tires a month now, and I can't say anything negative about them. My main focus was to buy tires that can handle the rain (I live in FL). I absolutely love the way they handle these puddles! My stock tires (Dunlop) that I had on previously made me hydroplane a few times. I'm so glad I did my research and bought these!