Rims not included with purchase of tires
Nankang

Nankang N889 M/T MudstarReviews

187 reviews

94 on SimpleTire93 from Google Shopping

4.5

overall rating

94%

Would you buy again?

Review breakdown

  • 31 out of 100
  • 50 out of 100
  • 11 out of 100
  • 1 out of 100
  • 1 out of 100

Scorecard

Dry

4.6

Wet

4.2

Winter

4.4

Comfort

4.4

Noise

4

Treadwear

4.2

94 SimpleTire reviews

J
5
Chevrolet C3500 1995 (DRW) Rear
Verified Customer
Oct 30, 2021

Awesome tires and excellent customer service. I would recommend anyone to shop here. Thank you guys for everything ????'?

Charles
4
Verified Customer
Jan 21, 2021

Good luck finding these tires they are discontinued but the best mud and hill climbing dirt tires I've ever had

Benjamin
5
Verified Customer
Nov 8, 2020

Ben
5
Verified Customer
Aug 17, 2020

Awesome Tire! Surprisingly quiet and good performance. Unbelievable traction in snow and mud. Wearing great, I have 5000 miles on them with little wear showing. I rotate them with every oil change which helps.

David
5
Verified Customer
Aug 16, 2020

Great tires at a great price and excellent service from simple tire.

Jack
4.5
Verified Customer
Aug 15, 2020

Great tires for the price. They look great on my 99 F350 dually. I've been hauling a 16,000Lbs goose neck to the hay auction and the tires handle the weight perfectly.

Terry
5
Verified Customer
Jul 15, 2020

These Mudstar tires are in use on a restored 74 Jeep CJ 5. This vehicle has a wheelbase of about 84 inches and weighs roughly 2,500 lbs. I use the Jeep off-road during turkey and deer season mainly on Signal Mtn Tennessee. Very rough and rocky with steep inclines and rock shelfs as well as nasty mud holes in the flat stretches. They perform very well with a tire pressure of about 20 psi when off-road. I would go lower on the pressure but my wheels lack bead lockers and I am running the tires tubeless so I don't want to take the chance of rolling the tire off the rim if I get in a bind. They remind me of the old Monster Mudder tires of 30 years ago in regard to their aggressive lug pattern. Not as much space between lugs so the Mudstars ride better on the road and produce less road noise. I suppose you give up some off-road traction as a trade off for the better ride and decreased road noise. When aired to 25-28 lbs the tires handle well on dry and wet roads But bear in mind I seldom drive faster than 45-50 mph on my short trips on the highway to reach my lease property. I've only had the tires for two hunting seasons with a few hundred miles of road time and I switch the tires out for less aggressive all terrain tires during the summer months. I can definitely see some wear on the tires mainly on the outer edges from cornering during road use which is to be expected for tires like this. The rubber compound seems to be somewhat on the soft side so I don't expect the tires to last beyond 15,000-20,000 miles if used on the road extensively. I haven't experienced much cutting or breaking chunks out of the tread on rock shelf's probably due to the lightweight of the vehicle and I do tend to baby the Jeep somewhat. Overall I am very pleased with the tires and would definitely buy again. These tires are so inexpensive you could afford to run them all year and just replace when the tread wears.

Randy
5
Verified Customer
Jul 15, 2020

Keith
4
Verified Customer
Jul 15, 2020

I use these tires exclusively off road, and they are AWESOME!! I had a set of 31's and upgraded to the 33's. They handle 8 lbs of air, grip like there's no tomorrow (mud, rocks, trees, inclines...up and down, etc.). The tread is very aggressive and cleans itself very well. My only complaint is they are really a 32" (they measure just a hair over 32" from ground to top, so not a true 33"). I would buy another set of Mudstars in a heartbeat, although next time they may be "35's" to get the height I want.

Chris
3.5
Verified Customer
Jul 15, 2020

Good looking tires. Seem to be a little smaller than other tires the same size.