Customer Reviews

Overall
4.5

(Based on 34 Reviews)
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 .0
5 .0
4 .0
5 .0
5 .0
5 .0

Recent Reviews

affa5249363911dd655e5a7cfacb49e6
On 06/27/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

This is my 3rd set of Yokohoma Avid Ascend tires, but this set is on our Camry. We are very pleased with this tire and think this model handles all situations above average. We have had 2 sets on our Highlander. They have a long life and are quiet in comparison to other tires we have had. I have been in some terrible downpours recently and had to put the flashers on and lower the speed on the highway, and these tires handled it well. I recommend them.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
55e503a8341c8b1b46ff31fbfb3e1675
On 04/09/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

I have only had the Yokohama Avid Ascend tires for about 4500 miles. They are a great riding tire. I've been through several strong rain storms and the tire cuts right through the standing water. No hydroplaning whatsoever. I haven't had the chance to test in winter driving conditions, but what I can say is the tire really seems to hug the road in other conditions. Highly recommend this tire and the entire simpletire experience was very positive. One of the technicians who installed the tires said he could not believe the price I got the tires for and wanted information for simpletire.com. He said they couldn't get close to that price.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
68e3ddbdc60ec17548e56f0da963b264
On 02/13/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

This is a good tire overall. The pros are ride comfort and low noise. It is a very quiet tire for sure. I found the traction to be lacking a little, as I could get wheels slip when taking off in dry or wet weather. The tires will likely be at the wet bars at approx 55k Miles, which isn’t as advertised, but that is good life from a set of tires over 5 years. I’m going to try a different tire and see about a bit better traction, but may pay for it a little in road noise...we shall see soon.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
3
5
4
4
24c00013ffc9c3d22e2897d1cf69a63e
On 02/10/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

I've been really pleased with these tires. Much quieter than my Coopers. The tires give a smooth controlled ride. Wet handling seems quite stable but then again I don't drive very fast in either rain or snow. Traction in snow is quite adequate. I'm very pleased with my purchase. This is my second set of Yokohama tires. I'm satisfied with both sets of Yokohamas.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
0218839761f2626ae3d72d50eac0a121
On 01/31/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Great tire.. Great price...

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
9b57cbdb96164f879d5f00d925522a45
On 01/31/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

These tires greatly improved the comfort of my ride. My car handles much better and is more enjoyable to drive.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
3
5
4
4
a4e199abca230fecf100f14926c4a05e
On 12/22/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Good riding and handling tires. Very pleased with my purchase.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
4
3f1bde33f6c2ac5acf0309c3606a16c8
On 12/09/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Great tire

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
bc1cb65ea69ceabd275917f95bc5ab14
On 11/15/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

These are the best tires I've ever bought. This is the second set I've bought and I will NEVER buy any other brand/type!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
cdbd4bb1d7b51ba5da744dbaf7545200
On 11/10/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

good bang for the buck so far....time will tell how they do wear-wise and in winter weather

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
4
3
2a81019b96494ec0df3de68db1a3aeaf
On 07/15/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
d37d798755f6b6932e021370dd01c546
On 06/19/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

GOOD TOURING TIRE AND LAST A LONG TIME

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
5
4
5
efbc58a67f826d3972722e984c39da4b
On 05/03/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

We have been Yokohama Avid Ascend customers for years. I grew up in an automotive household (dad was a mechanic) and he has always recommended this tire to customers and have put them on our "family" style vehicles (station wagons, mini-vans and standard sedans). They are a high quality tire with good tread life that work well on most vehicles (for our high-performance sports cars we use a different tire) at a great value. Feel confident in this purchase for your standard vehicles and mini-vans.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
5
5
4
7f5a80ccca76b89d45cf192ca857b4dc
On 04/30/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
4
5
c0608c85da0934b098a8f96d1229bc95
On 04/14/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I bought one use avid ascend a yr ago like new at 130,000 on installed on back of my 08 Scion xb not rotated or aligned or balanced vechicle has 203,000 now and It still has tread on it ( And a Defender on passenger rear used like new Defender excellent tire I might add courier tested at my job ) feels a little less tread than the yoki my opinion. I Bought two more yokohama avid ascends from another Internet place so far so good they are the 75k miles tires. This purchase here is for the 85k tires they are going on back soon used 1 still has some life left.Only reason for the 4 star in 2 spots they do roll a little in clover leafs and I Reade a comment about hydroplaining in wet so not so confident yet the front feels a little loose at 60 so I slow down easy enough I love my xb...Mom put 4 yokohama ascends on her 10 matrix about the same time she feels fine and loves how quiet they are road noise bumps etc. She has full coverage at 82k miles lol. Took off 4 Firestone affinity at 45k balding. I've been a big fan of yokohama tires since the 2000 in a 50 dollar 83 toyota tercel at 65mph in 1in snow fast lane no troubles watching ppl doing 40 and 45mph. Long lasting and super quiet comfortable ride. Please Slow down in bad weather like you should my life is worth more than speeding in bad weather. Yokohama yes good a buy.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
5
5
5
65d6759a9499fc477c46a4c6460f324b
On 04/14/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

This is my third set and as far as I am concerned this is the best tire around

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
f59910757710c317a1176f09097ffd49
On 03/26/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

so far so good. lets see what the next 70,000 has to show

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
3
4
3
3
c86829712d0bfd141409048ff7f4817a
On 01/01/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
942a88eecfdc3a67ae2a9e7ec9d23b8d
On 12/31/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

I've never ordered tires online before, so this was my first experience. The price was great, they shipped to my house, and I loaded them in my car and drove them to a local Pep boys. They work with Simple tire and understood the process. They installed the tires in a couple hours and I picked my car on my way home from work. I suspect it was more work than going to a shop that orders tires and installs them, but I believe I saved about $200 to $300 on the set of four when the whole things done. That is worth my time. I will be shopping again on Simple tire for my wife's tires when she is ready. I like the tires and they seem to be performing as promised.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
b5de61b3f20f62061a9cce83912eb77c
On 12/11/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

I've put a few miles on these in the last month or so and think they were a really good investment. The price was good (all tires are ridiculously over priced!) and the little rebate helped too! They have a great bite on them and look like they'll last (at least from one and half months in). We'll see.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
948c8fbe1dfbd98c1ef23222214997d5
On 11/16/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

I absolutely LOVE these tires. I feel like the handling is excellent given that these are low rolling resistance tires and not performance tires. Turn-in is decent, they resist tramlining very well, they are very progressive and communicative in cornering, and there are no surprises in the wet. In fact, wet performance is so much better than the Dunlops I had on before these that there is simply no comparison. Even with high mileage, these are solid wet weather tires. They're great for what they are, but no LRR tire will ever handle like a performance tire. Tire noise is not a big problem when they're new, but as they wear, they get progressively noisier. I knew they were pretty loud, but I didn't realize just how loud they had gotten until I put on the new ones. Thus the 4 star rating for handling. Tread life is exceptional. I put 85,000+ miles on my previous set. I didn't really want to rate winter traction because we have so little winter weather here, but the few times it has snowed, I've had no complaints. But then again, people around here are such bad winter drives that my driving style reverts to super-cautious in winter conditions.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
3
5
3b576454d94049bcf874913957915ef0
On 10/15/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Very good tire.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
5
4
4
c2c57fa2d864be2aa8fd170007463e05
On 10/03/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

The tires are great. They handle well in dry amd wet conditions. I found them for a great price too.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
4
4
aefd0ba74f3dc2b9bc27b5c5232c8b3a
On 03/08/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

This tire is being used for an unintended purpose- the rear tire on a motorcycle. Inflated to 40lbs for sidewall rigidity, the tire gives excellent stability in rain and wind, long tread life, superior stopping and cornering grip. It is smooth riding on cross country trips. It costs less than half of what a conventional motorcycle tire would. Maybe not politically correct, but you asked... and this is my third one on the same bike.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
1
5
5
5
2df4fc55dc241e70b0ddeb51221656bb
On 02/24/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I am 100% pleased with my decision to go with the Yokohama tire for my 2012 Kia Sorento. They handle better on wet pavement than the factory tires that these replaced. They are also much quieter, which was a big factor in my decision to go with these. I spent a significant amount of time researching tires before deciding up the Yokohama Avid Ascend, and I must say, it was time well spent. Due to an unusually small amount of snowfall this past winter, I only gave 4 stars on the rating for winter traction. That is ONLY because I can't give a precise gauge of how they actually handle on snow and ice packed roads for this year. I would anticipate no issues in that area as well.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
4
4
190782b4bc9ba3d17119c178943207e5
On 11/11/2015 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
8771e32bb62294807bd76b9dd18ff8fb
On 06/30/2015 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
3
5
5
5
f710ffbb6259858c2381acb798d7581c
On 06/24/2015 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Excellent value! In dry snow the traction was excellent. Wet snow, average, but wet and slushy is never excellent on all-season tires. These replaced Goodyear Assurance ComforTred touring tires which were a little better at cornering, and a slightly softer ride, but the overall experience with these tires outshines the Goodyear set. These tires are great for long trips whether you're on an Interstate or county highway. They don't contribute to driver fatigue at all, and the wear rate is excellent!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
5
5
a68ad35b4d176a62edd2b34bdcc06654
On 03/22/2015 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
b0e43cd085327bf62da31a10cb493676
On 08/17/2014 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I've been a big fan of Yokos for many years, and this newest AVID is no exception. Have only had it for 500 miles, so can't judge tread life yet, and of course there is not much snow in Florida in the summer, so can't judge winter traction either. So never mind the star ratings for those -- this site makes you pick all stars even when it is not appropriate. But the ride, handling, and traction are all great. I got great service from Simple Tire, which also had the best price on this tire, and got it to me in record time, just two days. I'm definitely pleased with that since it meant I could get the donut off and the new tire mounted quickly. All in all, very happy with both the tire and the vendor.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
3
5
5
4
0aba4695e2b3038ed558c3315b81df19
On 07/18/2014 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

wonderful tire installer ripped me off on install cost

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
3
5
5
5
6ad1038c35c529ebe37a3063f3858a3d
On 01/04/2014 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

When I first read the details on the Avid Ascend tires I knew it is the best but I needed proof. So I compared every tire on the market to Avid Ascend, read reviews and searched prices. I love the tires, looks good, it has the best tread life and depth. During rain and snow it handles the road very good. I wanted the best tire for the money I needed to spend, and Avid Ascend was my choice. My only choice. "Simple Tire" had the best price and received the tires within days.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
d13d3c7db69cc4731ad560031dee178b
On 11/24/2013 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

These tires are quite Im suprised how good they are since I got a set for so cheap

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
3
3
3
4
5
3