SimpleTire Review


Overall Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 5 5
Watch Our Review

Customer Reviews

Overall Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4.5

(Based on 14 Reviews)
5 .0
5 .0
4 .0
5 .0
5 .0
5 .0

Recent Reviews

948c8fbe1dfbd98c1ef23222214997d5 is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 11/16/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 4 4 4 3 5

Comments:

I absolutely LOVE these tires. I feel like the handling is excellent given that these are low rolling resistance tires and not performance tires. Turn-in is decent, they resist tramlining very well, they are very progressive and communicative in cornering, and there are no surprises in the wet. In fact, wet performance is so much better than the Dunlops I had on before these that there is simply no comparison. Even with high mileage, these are solid wet weather tires. They're great for what they are, but no LRR tire will ever handle like a performance tire. Tire noise is not a big problem when they're new, but as they wear, they get progressively noisier. I knew they were pretty loud, but I didn't realize just how loud they had gotten until I put on the new ones. Thus the 4 star rating for handling. Tread life is exceptional. I put 85,000+ miles on my previous set. I didn't really want to rate winter traction because we have so little winter weather here, but the few times it has snowed, I've had no complaints. But then again, people around here are such bad winter drives that my driving style reverts to super-cautious in winter conditions.

3b576454d94049bcf874913957915ef0 is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 10/15/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 4 4 5 4 4

Comments:

Very good tire.

c2c57fa2d864be2aa8fd170007463e05 is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 10/03/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 4 5 4 4

Comments:

The tires are great. They handle well in dry amd wet conditions. I found them for a great price too.

aefd0ba74f3dc2b9bc27b5c5232c8b3a  

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 03/08/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 1 5 5 5

Comments:

This tire is being used for an unintended purpose- the rear tire on a motorcycle. Inflated to 40lbs for sidewall rigidity, the tire gives excellent stability in rain and wind, long tread life, superior stopping and cornering grip. It is smooth riding on cross country trips. It costs less than half of what a conventional motorcycle tire would. Maybe not politically correct, but you asked... and this is my third one on the same bike.

2df4fc55dc241e70b0ddeb51221656bb is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 02/24/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 4 5 4 4

Comments:

I am 100% pleased with my decision to go with the Yokohama tire for my 2012 Kia Sorento. They handle better on wet pavement than the factory tires that these replaced. They are also much quieter, which was a big factor in my decision to go with these. I spent a significant amount of time researching tires before deciding up the Yokohama Avid Ascend, and I must say, it was time well spent. Due to an unusually small amount of snowfall this past winter, I only gave 4 stars on the rating for winter traction. That is ONLY because I can't give a precise gauge of how they actually handle on snow and ice packed roads for this year. I would anticipate no issues in that area as well.

190782b4bc9ba3d17119c178943207e5  

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 11/11/2015 gave an Overall Rating of 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 4 4 4 4 4
8771e32bb62294807bd76b9dd18ff8fb is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 06/30/2015 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 3 5 5 5
f710ffbb6259858c2381acb798d7581c is a Confident Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 06/24/2015 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 4 4 4 5 5

Comments:

Excellent value! In dry snow the traction was excellent. Wet snow, average, but wet and slushy is never excellent on all-season tires. These replaced Goodyear Assurance ComforTred touring tires which were a little better at cornering, and a slightly softer ride, but the overall experience with these tires outshines the Goodyear set. These tires are great for long trips whether you're on an Interstate or county highway. They don't contribute to driver fatigue at all, and the wear rate is excellent!

a68ad35b4d176a62edd2b34bdcc06654 is a Aggressive Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 03/22/2015 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 5 5
b0e43cd085327bf62da31a10cb493676 is a Aggressive Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 08/17/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 3 5 5 4

Comments:

I've been a big fan of Yokos for many years, and this newest AVID is no exception. Have only had it for 500 miles, so can't judge tread life yet, and of course there is not much snow in Florida in the summer, so can't judge winter traction either. So never mind the star ratings for those -- this site makes you pick all stars even when it is not appropriate. But the ride, handling, and traction are all great. I got great service from Simple Tire, which also had the best price on this tire, and got it to me in record time, just two days. I'm definitely pleased with that since it meant I could get the donut off and the new tire mounted quickly. All in all, very happy with both the tire and the vendor.

0aba4695e2b3038ed558c3315b81df19  

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 07/18/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 3 5 5 5

Comments:

wonderful tire installer ripped me off on install cost

6ad1038c35c529ebe37a3063f3858a3d is a Cautious Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 01/04/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 5 5

Comments:

When I first read the details on the Avid Ascend tires I knew it is the best but I needed proof. So I compared every tire on the market to Avid Ascend, read reviews and searched prices. I love the tires, looks good, it has the best tread life and depth. During rain and snow it handles the road very good. I wanted the best tire for the money I needed to spend, and Avid Ascend was my choice. My only choice. "Simple Tire" had the best price and received the tires within days.

d13d3c7db69cc4731ad560031dee178b is a Cautious Driver

On Yokohama Avid Ascend Tires

On 11/24/2013 gave an Overall Rating of 3.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
3 3 3 4 5 3

Comments:

These tires are quite Im suprised how good they are since I got a set for so cheap