Customer Reviews

Overall Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4.5

(Based on 14 Reviews)
5 .0
3 .0
2 .0
5 .0
4 .0
3 .0

Recent Reviews

7cbbdc48bedabdd942830891fd0417b1  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
4 5

Comments:

Our race team uses the R888 tires in a 295 & 305 staggered 19" setup. Our car weights 4200lbs and puts out well over 700WHP in RWD configuration. Getting the power down quickly is a tough task for any tire, but the R888's do a great job of that. In addition to that we have incredible initial turn in with these tires and great breaking abilities. This can be attributed to the solid R888 compound and structure. The tire is extremely consistent with its performance. It is forgiving if you overcook them. We run 20 minute stints at our track days and if we overwork the tires in the first couple of laps, you let them take a lap off, the performance comes right back to you. We have run other brand tires in the past and once they go off, they are done for that session. The R888's are also forgiving if you are pushing the limits of your vehicle through the turns. There is enough forewarning that you are on the boundary of grip. We are never concerned about the loss of grip unexpectedly. They are extremely predictable. Bringing the tires up to temperature is very easy. Once the tires are in their operating range you can really feel the grip come in to play. We get a bunch of heat cycles out of them with our setup and weight of the vehicle. Overall performance relative to other performance tires is significant. At times during our racing season we were able to match the pace of other cars on slicks while we remained on R888's. The best part about these are that you can drive to the track on them, adjust tire pressures, race all day, and then drive home on them. For anyone looking at getting a set of the Toyo Tire R888's, this is a great tire. It will allow you to focus on the important stuff like breaking points, turn ins, apex, and lines. The last thing you want to do is worry about tires and ever changing grip levels. They are solid consistent performing tires and deliver the results you expect out of a brand like Toyo Tires.

b402631519a8357553797bae76d32e6e  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
4 4

Comments:

I used the R888 on my Porsche Turbo S and loved them. They helped grip where I really needed it during a rally. The tires wore much better than others I have used and could almost daily drive these no problem.

03bf57187ecf377b90ae367f41ccf675  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 3

Comments:

I swear by these tires and have gone through 10 sets between my Viper, GT-R, and McLaren. This is the only tire that consistently grips throughout the tread life. I have tried Pilot Super Sports, Cup 2's, Pirelli Corsa's, Trofeo R's, and others. The R888 is the best straight-line street tire out there, period. Also one of the best dot approved cornering tires out there. The only complaint is the noise and tread life. They are loud and don't last very long, maybe 10k miles on average. But worth the sacrifice if you want the ultimate summer grip for the street or a killer track tire.

cf9eed09a60374aa36896b88309c86a6  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 4

Comments:

R888 grips! Off the line,sharp turns, absolutely love it! Possibly the best tires I have ever put on my 600rwhp/550rwtq BMW and even the road noise & ride quality isn't as bad as people mentioned. Highly recommended tires for both street & track.

0b751e537a5e4babcfcbc42a26c34913  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 3

Comments:

I am using the R888 GG on my 206 GTI and used them on my previous car. They are by far the best tyres ive tried for fast road use. The high grip prevents abs from kicking in early so the braking distance is significantly improved. Same same goes for cornering, the tyres makes the car feel super stable and easy driven. I feel the safetey is in top because the braking and handling is so much improved compared to the tyres the car had on when i bought it. Even in wet weather i feel the R888 is as a minimum on par with other tyres i tried, more grip on acceleration, better breaking distance! They might be more sensetive to aquaplaning at high speed, though i havent noticed, so if you are not driving as a madman in heavy rain this is not really an issue. The milage in the tyres are average at best and the gas milage suffers abit. Guess you can't have it all, but i gladly trade the slightly higher gas consumption and thread wear for the awesome driving experience and safety i feel these tyres apply to my car.

e8681bdcec4bf83dd8da2b63589c8c64  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 4

Comments:

First time getting these tires on my 2004 Audi S4 and I have to say they are a huge upgrade from a basic summer tire as expected. What was unexpected is that they hold up to most everything. I have been dailying them on my car for about 10,000 miles now some tread wear but honestly not as bad as I expected. I have not brought these to the track just highly aggressive back road driving, they heat up fast which is extremely useful in day to day driving and then going for a spirited Sprint. As some may know the V8 in my car is in front of the forward axle so understeer is real lol. The Times I lost traction and had sketchy understeer with my old tires was often, with these I have yet to run into that issue with pushing them to the limits which the feedback is there, they tell you when your getting close and it's been very reliable so far. I have used these in extreme rain conditions upwards of 130mph and they still feel good a little hydroplane here and there but otherwise I'd say very good at water displacement. Also many have not done this but might as well be the 1, I took these tires through a winter, through snow and on ice nothing below 15°F but a couple inches of snow, they honestly didn't handle as bad as I thought they were going to and obviously braking is 10x more difficult in snow, so they did okay, not great so not for inexperienced drivers but still worked just fine for myself. Road noise shouldn't bother you if you have a loud V8 haha but yes they are loud and partially entertaining. All together it's a great tire for daily driving and will be getting them for daily driving again.

cfa6f4fd02ca48c68f224224f8996e0f  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 3

Comments:

I have a set of these on my daily driven Kenne Bell blown Ford Falcon their grip ,handling and Braking are superb of course their is a trade off they don't wear as well as some and they do get noisy near the end of their life ,but I would thoroughly recommend them to all.

95d77784e21701574a9facd8f03df21b  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 3

Comments:

AC Cobra MKIV uses 255/50-16"s on the rears which is very hard to find these days. I have owned this car for over 20 years with this being the 4th set of tires I have used. The problem is a 2400 lb , 400HP car with wide tires doesn't get them hot enough to use predictably on the street. Yoky A008R's were the best before these. GYears were all over the street. Fun for power slides and making noise, but scary on country roads when anything but hot dry weather. Now can't turn the rears over unless you really ask for it! Flings a few more stones than I'd like, but cornering and braking are at a new all-time level, especially in cooler temps and damp pavement. Thankfully, the drifting show is over!

0b7460be1f4bd4188047bd4c6cdf4be0  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
4 5

Comments:

Just put a pair of 185/60/13's on my Caterham, took it through some windy's within 10 miles of their installation, and all I can say is "Sweet baby Jesus." They're not even close to scrubbed & I did 15 mph corners at about 50 w/o even a squeal. The difference between these & what was on there isn't even measurable. They do pick up up every little rock though, my interior was littered when I got home.

18f18ee9ab9a1056778b1647bd2c100d  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Treadwear
5 4

Comments:

Normally i would use this tire on a track day. But since I organized one of the largest rotary car event in the country called, 'Deals Gap Rotary Rally' at the famous twisting road called the 'Dragon' in TN/NC border, I thought I give it a shot. . It's 318 turns in 11 miles makes it either fun like being on a roller coaster with these R888s or knuckle grabbing 11miles with street tires. I also ran exact same size Advan Ad08s before and R888s just grabs!! I recent put another set of wheels with these.

48cf24486d9a8e65a142b25682f19949 is a Aggressive Driver

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 10/02/2017 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 2

Comments:

Track Tires. Low mileage, high stickiness. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=847806975393735&set=a.150493908458382.1073741825.100004933200065&type=3

acabc7654512897b6358f38f51881718  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 02/05/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 4 4 4 4 4
54fbfdbfa16e663a54d5cc4e0c2cbdbe is a Aggressive Driver

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 04/23/2015 gave an Overall Rating of 2.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 1 1 5 3 1

Comments:

These tires are extreme: not for your average sedan. Dry grip and handling are maximized at the expense of wet road performance and tread life. They're pretty awesome! I've fitted them to a Lotus that's just used for occasional sport driving on winding roads, so I'm not concerned with longevity or wet grip. They seem to be perfect for my needs.

39c5e84d7380e098bdce5e08cd28b7d6  

On Toyo Proxes R888 Tires

On 10/09/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 3.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 3 1 4 3 3

Comments:

Great tire for its purpose. Not good in any kind of wet conditions.