Customer Reviews

Overall Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4.5

(Based on 16 Reviews)
4 .0
4 .0
4 .0
4 .0
4 .0
4 .0

Recent Reviews

39d27b48cafef0296859aa79ef861838  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 2.00
Treadwear
1

Comments:

I bought this tiers 15.000 km ago and they are half way through and i have had 36 psi in the tireĀ“s and the sidewall is starting to look like have bean driving on flat tire.

59ff57b58918f408634c7f317b0fdecf  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

I'm starting my 2nd winter season on these tires. I travel Hoosier Pass 4 times a week and these tires are excellent in the snow and ice. I also drive these tires off-foad and love the traction in the dirt and mud. I push these tires to their limit and they are awesome! Thank's Toyo for building such a great tire.

ff86ea8bd589e38ea5ec5062e53a2ad4  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

Mounted on Subaru Forester turbo. On a 7" wet snow covering a dirt field I tried to spin the tires from a standing stop using a lot more gas pedal than appropriate for winter driving. Tires just dug in and car drove straight and under control. Noise on bare pavement is no louder than the Michelin all season Defenders I run on the rest of the year. Gave 4 stars for treadwear and ice braking since cannot judge them yet. So far I'm very pleased with them.

77dcd555f38b965d220a13a3bb080260  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

After wearing out studless snows from three other brands that I will not name, and finding that my favorite so far had become very expensive to replace, I asked my dealer to suggest one that would not break the bank. He recommended the Toyo Observe GSI5. Since I'd been pleased with all-season Toyos on another car, I was eager to give them a try. Smart move. In overall performance for the winter conditions I deal with, these are the best. Especially impressive is their combination of better deep snow traction (as deep as you care to go in a midsize FWD sedan), and extraordinarily confident dry road handling.

ae9dcc9e37022149ccf950c122d2f316  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry
5

Comments:

Just got mine today in a snow storm really surprized and pleased at there traction stopping ability, great tire, the other spots i didnt mark not tested yet

145c8ebc6f2e422ea6153a15103d0446  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00

Comments:

Bought this tire last October and replaced studded tires that had worn out prematurely (side wall destroyed :( will never buy that make again). The GSi5 is surprisingly good in dry conditions, very good balance and stability and the only notable drawback being humming noise at speed over 60 km/h. Generally very good on ice, until they skid. The studded tires let you know before they brake loose, and always have some traction, but the GSi5 is very good in braking to the point where they slip. This is however to be expected, showing that nothing can really outperform studded tires on wet ice. Just had 50 cm snowfall this morning (Reykjavik, Iceland), so a perfect time to test snow performance. The results were outstanding! I could drive through the snow like there was nothing in the way, total grip all the time, without even lowering tire pressures. The only thing holding back was the amount of snow being washed over the front windshield if I went too fast. Don't know yet about tread-wear, but the GSi5 seems to be by far the best winter tire I've used so far.

50a95372498491be6278cfbaecc8f518  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

This is my first time trying the TOYO brand of tires very impressed with the ride quality & traction performance. I have tried other winter tires & I am very please with this product. I have these tires installed on a LWB Nissan Titan crew cab and would highly recommend that anyone looking for a great winter tire to try these. I will most definatley be looking @ purchasing the TOYO HT tire for my summer tire needs.

fe0d624342ce077de6f86874fd2f8c8f  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

absolutely excellent I will never run a winter without them! Offers much better handling then the blizzak superior stopping even when compared to the x ice even the new one

6701edde51b20bb68bf7d9d1336c996c  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
4

Comments:

I first tried Toyo Observe tires with the microbit (walnut) technology in the winter of 2006. I was working in a 24x7x365 environment and wanted tires that could handle the Colorado winters. I was driving a 1998 Saturn SL2 with no ABS brakes. The night after I bought the tires and had them mounted, there was freezing rain, and then a dusting of light powder snow. The next morning, my first workday after getting the tires, I drove in to work on that ice with powder snow on top, leaving my house at 0455 a.m. The traction was good, and the handling was great. I thought 'so far, so good.' When I got to work, I did a test in the huge parking lot there. I took the car up to about 27 MPH and slammed on the brakes #this car had no ABS brakes#. And I mean that I stood on the brakes as hard as I could. The braking response was amazing. I was gloatingly proud of how the car braked on the super-slick, icy surface. I was completely sold on Toyo Observes from then on. Many times I was the only person who could get in to work when my colleagues were snowbound. I like to say that the Toyo Observe turned my Saturn into a Subaru. I put Observes on all of my vehicles and sing their praises whenever given the chance. Those tires have saved my life at least twice. In late 2015, I could not find Toyo Observes at all and went with a second choice. It seemed as if Toyo had taken them out of production. Now, I have found them again and I am overjoyed. I am buying a set for the latest addition to our car family today. Thank you, Toyo, for making such a superb winter tire.

b5848363f67477c3a4956ab1236c18e8  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Treadwear
5

Comments:

Second winter running theses tires on a '10 ford ranger 2wd and will never go without them in the winter again. The technology that has gone into them is definitely superior to any other tire. They are not noisy They handle heavy and wet deep snow with ease and brake great on slush and icy roads, Lots of tread still left with 10k on them. Normally I wouldn't take the time to write about tires but these are a great winter/snow tire for any vehicle Highly recommend toyo observe to anyone awesome tires

08ad879e1b8fbbdbabcb74c0f49d47af  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/14/2018 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00

Comments:

I can't believe that I didn't buy these tires sooner. They held up to my expectations and a whole lot more. I had heard of Toyo winter tires, with crushed walnuts in the treads, a while back and being in the middle of Canada (snow country) decided that it was time to look into them. I came across the Observe GSi5 tires and decided they were the ones for me. I had been using a m+s tire on my AWD Astro but really wasn't happy with their performance. I searched your site to find a dealer that sold your tires in Winnipeg, MB., Canada and found OK Tire on Arlington. St. that wasn't to far from my house. They didn't take long to convince me that they were the ones and so I ordered them. A few days later I returned to have them installed. What a difference. My vehicle felt a lot more controllable. No more sliding to a stop or spinning the wheels to get moving and it didn't matter how careful I was with my vehicle. Taking corners felt so much more at ease. I definitely made the right choice. Thanks Toyo Tires for making such a great product.

42ddc8ec7422699c91bc9519ebccab31 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 12/30/2017 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Snow Comfort Noise
4 5 5 5

Comments:

Tires are an excellent choice for winter tires on a car. Very impressive

fa6140761d35bc9d098f4446653df318 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 12/27/2017 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 3 5

Comments:

This is our second set on a second vehicle they work wonders up here in North Dakota. You need to rotate them more often then other tires but you can leave them on year round and they work awesome.

ede77ee9a18155bc6973d28008cdc994 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 12/21/2017 gave an Overall Rating of 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4 4 4 4 4 4

Comments:

Great linear grip through Snow and Slush, excellent ride comfort for snow tires. Lateral grip could be improved on both snow and ice but overall these are pretty good winter tires!

43f75dca9ea1ca87a360ca49d55aaaa9 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 03/01/2017 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 4 4

Comments:

Tires are Amazing, they work great in the ice/snow...

24161819bdce465616145185081eac81 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 12/12/2016 gave an Overall Rating of 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
3 5 5 5 5 4

Comments:

Perfect tires for snow and icy conditions and my second buy of these same tires, will for sure buy another set when these are worn out.

2a63cc4aef5193e84c0b1c7d8d2abef5 is a Confident Driver

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 05/21/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 3.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
3 3 3 3 3 3

Comments:

driven better

544d451f95861cba1dcafb88c2c592f3  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/04/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 5 5 5 4 5

Comments:

Great winter tire for the price. Do not regret my purchase. Always bought Toyo winter tires before and I find these to be the best to date. They grip extremely well in snow. A little less on glare ice but still very good. Will highly recommend these to anyone.

8c33e5b18420217bd27d9ac0617c8406  

On Toyo Observe Gsi-5 Tires

On 01/04/2014 gave an Overall Rating of 3.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
3 3 4 4 3 3

Comments:

Works OK on my Smart Car. Very few options for tires for this vehicle. I'm hoping that these will wear better than the Continental Winter Contacts. Traction seems OK and what I would expect for such a light car and rear wheel drive.