Customer Reviews

Overall
4.5

(Based on 68 Reviews)
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5 .0
4 .0
4 .0
4 .0
5 .0
5 .0

Recent Reviews

892098dc649159ed2ed4318df8bf35bf
On 11/18/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

The tires are installed on a small SUV not much to test on a family style vehicle. I really like General tires. Cost to performance. Value. The Altimax tread design has provided excellent rain and very good snow traction. Including my previous holley stealth ram moded 400hp Trans Am. From a perfect sunny day at a redlight 2013 to a on the spot snow storm. My SUV had no traction issues in the biggest 2017 heavy snowstorm. Simple tire. Provides fast & friendly service & shipment. Along with economic road hazzard warranty options

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
4
5
7079c72c21415131774625ba1d64f4b0
On 11/06/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

Got these tires on my 2010 Odyssey. At first I thought these provided good value for the money. However I got about 30,000 miles only and will need to replace them soon. Yes, the tires were rotated. As for performance, they are pretty good on dry roads. Overall acceptable on wet roads. However, I’ve experienced three incidents that made me question the overall performance. Most recently, my traction light flashed for a split second while driving on heavy rain. Got about 25,000 miles when this happened. Why is this important, well this has never happened to me with OEM Michelin tires. Second incident happened while parked on a slope, facing up. It was raining slightly. Tires did not get traction until after a full rotation. I had about 10,000 miles at the time. Third incident is when the tires chirped as I made a 90 degree right turn at about 10 mph. I had about 15,000 miles. My OEM Michelin performed much better. But I got about 30,000 before replacing them with General RT43. I think the weight of the minivan is the reason the tires wear out quickly. If you are wondering if I would buy the Generals again, the answer is that I would look to other brands first to see if I can find better value / performance.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
3
4
3
3
9959b0972199f63554b4797abd3b20a8
On 11/05/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
ff6d7fb785f92f1d80a3d38f073aae7a
On 11/02/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I have had these tires for a year now and 17,000 miles and so far so good. A little on the noisy side but overall its been a great value.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
3
4
c16caf307e59333944a91d3ee3f80a39
On 10/31/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

Thought these might be directional tires the way the handle not to good. Warm dry roads not a bad tire . Grooved pavement it feels like the tires are flat all over the place. They break loose easily on starts warm or cold. I only have a summer on them 7-8 thousand miles and will replace them for winter. Wow is all I can say lost faith in General.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
4
3
3
4
e8a025e177e78c9c7f48cacfa32c1156
On 10/30/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

Flatt spots when car sets when cold .makes car shake for miles.would never buy general tires again. Going to have to,replace them before winter. Allan

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
3
1
4
4
468b693659d7d3aa48dd1b2101bf9b54
On 10/30/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
3
67719153afe0fdccc97363f3a73d12b9
On 10/30/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

These were the #1 rated tires for my car on consumer reports and they have been great so far. No complaints whatsoever with the tires, and the process of ordering them on simpletire was fantastic. 100% will do it again next time I need tires.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
90a4897b4d6e39e8208325fe9765eef4
On 10/30/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

So far I like these tires. I've only put a few thousand miles on them but I've noticed a couple of things I don't like. First off, if the streets are wet my tires break loose really easily from a dead stop and spin like crazy. I haven't used them in snow yet but am worried based on how the behave on wet roads. Secondly these tires bloom really badly. They turn brown in just a few weeks and I have to keep treating them so they look nice. I really hope they perform good in snow since I live in Minnesota.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
3
3
4
4
3
d52e32f3a96a64786814ae9b5279fbe5
On 10/26/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

General tires have always been very reliable in my experience. They seem to perform just as good in all areas as most more expensive brands. Would always recommend these as a more budget friendly reliable brand of tire.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
5
5
403c7ebe4e225e7db86bcd1e4568ae6f
On 10/26/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

After long research I've installed General Altimax RT43 on my Nissan Versa and Prius C. These are pretty much the best all-around touring tires money can buy. Quiet, with predictable dry handling, very good wet handling, and pretty decent snow traction. Quiet ride and long tread life. One hell of a deal for the money.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
5
4
4
5
5
9959b0972199f63554b4797abd3b20a8
On 10/19/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

These are my favorite tires. I am used them on 2 cars in the past. Very reliable - quiet ride. My car came with Goodyear tires I could not wait to change them out. Happy to be going into winter with the Generals.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
9ca5da51a2fc299550e979012c6b02b0
On 10/17/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Huge improvement over OE tires. Improved driver confidence and comfort.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
4
4
4
f4ad2985a7458af3e2f5d31795c679a2
On 10/15/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Like these tires never owned a set of General's before feels like your glued to the road ! Sensitive can feel imperfection of road surface while driving had em on for 10 months now No Complaints !

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
5
5
4
167d4ef14f04d61109304cba8ed0ba31
On 10/05/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I have had these for 3 months and they handle well in wet weather. Noise level is not bad. A little hard on dry roads.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
4
4
5
db6017bd1f27118d44083a172a82409f
On 10/05/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Have these tires currently on my 06 Mazda CX-5, 20 inch H rated. The OEM came with Toyo V speed rated. The General help soften the ride enough to enjoy a less bumpy ride. The sport handling nature of this vehicle is still present even with a lower speed rated tire. I also had these General RT 43s in the T speed rating on my 08 Hyundai Elantra. They did ride a little soft and I increase tire pressure approx 3-5 lbs in each tire which helped a lot. They handled dry, wet, snow EXTREMELY WELL! Also provided enough traction to drive 25+ miles in sleet and ice which I experienced in both vehicles. (Some people drive much more spirited than I. I however choose safe speeds and maneuvers the majority of the time, although I have had my share of more spirited driving when I was younger.) During emergency maneuvering in either vehicle, the tires handled without a hitch. As in any tire you buy, there is a breaking point and tires will warn you ahead of time what that breaking point is. I was impressed with these tires to even put a set on my mother in law's Honda Civic. Just my 2 cents!!

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
5
4
4
4
5
8bfcdb6f6b43247cab55e92c7c2c838b
On 10/02/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

Everything went well. Had to correct a size mistake on first tire. Had it returned and got the right size and a refund for 1st tire. Would recommend.

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
d745fb1e9248407e98ec64935843df48
On 09/21/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

This tire is great for the price. Great tread wear. Great traction tire as well

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
994dc14b762a24b795e02b7e8e9dbf3b
On 09/21/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Have had the tires for about 2 months. So far, they’re great! Handle good in the rain, even in downpours. The ride noise/roar is far less than my previous tires. I’m looking forward to see how the tires handle the snow in a few months!

By submitting a review, each person received a sweepstakes entry.
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
4
4
8638dc8b6548fa9324bc4aadb5cc68f2
On 07/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Seems to ride a little rougher than my previous tire but wear is good.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
4
5
5
eba389e6e930005433ae448882554958
On 07/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
5
5
5
b1db5965237a242a4ca2229bb9267101
On 07/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

fast delivery and tires looked very good. better than the original ones with a lower price. I'll order tires here again.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
4
4
5
3be9ece89e926f5efdf697111b45f830
On 07/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
4
3
4
5
33fbfbd47532f5c30642020ad7df50cb
On 07/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

It is very calm and smooth, nice buy. Will buy again

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
c13e13da2073260c2194c15d782e86a9
On 05/28/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

Nice ride, braking improved , only 500 miles driven so no treadwear observation .

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
4
4
4
4
1e953cfe3a094ee62b593c7f2ba97c72
On 05/27/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

Good price, sidewalls seem spongy when setting the car into the first stage of the turn when exiting from the highway. You might find yourself driving a little slower because of it. It reminds me of how tires feel when they are low on air.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
3
3
3
4
177716b2c0bf9fb57445d312a71aaa07
On 04/29/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Great tire for the price. Smooth ride. To early to comment on Tread Life.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
5
4
5
5
e2c06d9c2ddb1ea63719cd205911bb71
On 02/25/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
4
ab2abf918f7fe64b17e0f8e495e35022
On 02/03/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Excellent tire at a great price!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
be3adfc0a000ddabffabac074753b9fd
On 02/02/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Recently purchased these tires-just before the first few snows. Driving cautiously, these tires have performed fairly well. Dry handling and wet roads they perform exceptionally well for the price. Ride comfort is good, and no noticeable road noise. Overall, I'm very happy with these tires.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
4
4
5
5
f20b6a62293fbec54a51d944a3da4d22
On 01/29/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
272f4e0e1ddd2b12f7774e901c61fca4
On 01/25/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

Specifically bought these tires for wet handling and snow traction, they are performing to my hoped expectations.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
3
4
4
5
d9f15cca00f4294cb3482c3fdba77a84
On 01/16/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
4
5
4
1328faa585a809207ab5a4143098ef82
On 01/15/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Highly recommend. Great traction and performance in the snow and rain up here in Mi. As good as the high end tires I have purchased in the past but at a more reasonable price.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
5
9ea031f5c40c2d635438eb109a6b4325
On 01/12/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

I can't comment on the tread life as I've only pit 4,000 miles on the tires. Nice fairly aggressive tread handles 2 inches if snow on mountainous roads well. Not noisy. Good wet traction for my driving style.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
5
e22378e769c761b99a7b2fb5ba56e7c5
On 01/11/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Recently purchased, but am impressed so far with snow traction, quiet ride, and moderately good ice traction.

Wet Snow Comfort Noise
4
5
4
5
4d236810821e8e83a025f2a83ea31820
On 01/10/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  2.00 2.00
Comments:

I purchased these today since I had a blowout. My tire shop did not have the brand tire I have, so I purchased a pair of these. Had them placed on the front. My highway drive to work of 28 miles was as scary as they come. Dry highway, cold temperatures, and these tires kept tripping my anti-skid sensor. I was revving 3000 rpm and going nowhere. I had to turn off my anti-skid mechanism to go forward 55 mph. Dryer roads and warmer temps for ride home, no change! I doubt they are returnable. I sure would not recommend these for Kia Optima owners! Dont waste your money!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
1
1
1
1
5
4cb59f7bc440cd49a36c18f9091a1f2e
On 01/10/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

Great tire,performs just as well as the name brands. Has done well in temps as low as -30 but mostly tested in the rain. Would recommend.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
4
4
4
4
3bff3f7a79b0521e91bc852929b147b6
On 01/09/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

this is my second set of altimax rt 43 general tires bought from simple tire. very satisfied with tires and price and service. thanks simple tire.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
e4f4e51753f4d0dd3b0071b4026dc197
On 01/01/2018 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

The ride is great. Almost no road noise. Looking forward to a long durable ride.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
4
4
4
4
5
94fc76907dd89a638c9340e3cc2bae21
On 12/28/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
5
4
4
5
5
caa0895eb66f4549901d7dd6026e2dcd
On 12/17/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  3.50 3.50
Comments:

So far so good. Hope they provide to live up to the General Tire mileage claims.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
3
2
4cbc7d76bf4190fa6c846aeadedd1d08
On 12/11/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
6e7a22919814b8b5211f863f27083864
On 12/09/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
5
5
5
5
b694260ae7ef194b64c087b2b77e122b
On 12/08/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Third vehicle I have put these on. Super quiet and smooth ride. Don't expect to drive this in the snow unless I get caught out in it. Hope to get 60,000 plus miles.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
d2be14557c77f085b5eb062dc289910b
On 11/26/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

These were purchased strongly influenced on reviews in consumers reports. These tires are year round tires that give very good snow traction and very acceptable all around all year preformance.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise
4
4
5
4
5
7059678965c1814de0cffd11e6ef8335
On 11/20/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Tires arrived less than 48hrs after ordered. Great job simple tire. Highly recommended tires specialy for passenger vehicles/minivans. Definitely would buy again from simple tire

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
5
0475f4adf67cffff806665535ab72dff
On 11/14/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

This is the only tire I us for our cars!!!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
cd8baae884538fbe20dd6f21f60c4a26
On 11/08/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Will update my review in time, 2011 Civic, car handles better and absorbs road imperfections better than the good year eagle RSA ever did. Couldn't be happier with this tire! Did a lot of research and always came back to this model. The tires I received are made in the USA!

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
4
82a68420fc72785bc47856180ebfa80f
On 10/17/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

These tires are great for the price. The only one bad thing about them is the riding noise but it’s not where I can’t tolerate it.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
4
5
2
af76e5af9d9c30b34b53b80c443a6697
On 10/12/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

I love the General Altimax tires. In total, I have ordered 4 sets now (different vehicles). Mileage is outstanding and the performance is great. I will be buying a new set for my wife's Enclave soon. You just can't beat them!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
c00e6d28153e2ed7d129e4860d557ed9
On 09/14/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Purchased these tires after reading many reviews. They were spot on, quiet, good handling, rain no problem. For what you get in a tire, these can't be beat in price, and quality. I would recommend you consider these tires for your car.

Dry Wet Comfort Noise
5
5
5
4
24008b4d2c657e0f23a794b9fe452a2f
On 09/08/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Comfort Noise
4
4
4
5
bef12a653754b92277c59a6d3c1384c3
On 08/28/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Comments:

great tires for the price

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
d9ec5a1c0a8e66c161ad1a8518d91998
On 08/21/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

Easy to order, had delivered to an authorized installer, and installed. Much jess expensive than ordering and installation by local hire dealer. Would not hesitate to order again.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
5
5
411aa58cca15033c698e780a74b911e4
On 06/05/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

So far love the general tires . They ride smooth and car feels like it's glued to the road , pretty quiet too . General tire has been around since the beginning of the automobile,, so I think by now they know how to make a good tire ! Also was very impressed by the fast service from Simple Tire ,, they came in 3 days from PA to WI !!!!! NICE JOB !! Will buy these tires again from simple tire!

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
4f4321f69deb7310571b65f22e054db8
On 05/17/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
3
5
4
4
33620ad83ef4f4702ffd4527cf76fd5c
On 04/03/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Handle great in the rain, only one trip in snow fall of about 3 inches. Seemed to grip very well. So far I like these tires

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
3
af76e5af9d9c30b34b53b80c443a6697
On 03/19/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

I have several vehicles and the General Altimax is the best tire I have found. And I have Altimax on all of them 1) It looks good 2) It is quiet on the road 3) It has excellent handing characteristics: wet, dry, or snow. It is amazing 4) It is very long life on treadwear 5) It is the best value in tires on the market Now you combine all of that with the folks at Simple Tire. (Great shipping, great service, no hassle ordering on line). You have the ultimate winner

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
ca59f1065b30b1d5759174a3adb5725e
On 03/13/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
5
5
4
89ad34488eadc6f0e6a6d839478f1f69
On 01/28/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
e5914f4f8f509cc94da65024769515b8
On 01/17/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Very impressed with these General tires so far. They are a lot quieter than the OEM Goodyear and the Pirelli tires they replaced. They have a great feel of the road, handling well on wet and dry pavement. Haven't had any winter weather yet in north Alabama, so have not been able to evaluate winter traction, but had to select some stars. Buying experience from SimpleTire was great and their partner Pep Boys, Decatur, AL did a great job installing.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
3
5
5
5
9f754eb791a63ab2e2dfb32c12f3f9ce
On 01/01/2017 gave an Overall Rating of  4.00 4.00
Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
4
4
4
4
4
4
6efb02373cb19dc911fc9eb46184e0c1
On 12/19/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

I've only have these tires for a short time, but they have performed very well. The price was right and during the last snowstorm, they handled well in the snow. As of now, I would definitely purchase these again.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
5
5
5
7494b1303bcc5f9a423ece7680ed2589
On 10/25/2016 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

This my third set of General Tire Avid TRZ touring tires. Reasonably priced and very good performance tire. I recommend them.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
4
4
4
5
4
6e0a0f76f98f28cc7c657cf740dd6d4a
On 03/19/2014 gave an Overall Rating of  5.00 5.00
Comments:

GREAT TIRE FOR THE PRICE AND ALSO GREAT HANDLEING IN THE SNOW AND ON DRY PAVEMENT. i HAVE NOT HAD THE CHANCE TO DRIVE IN RAIN YET BUT I'M SURE IT WILL BE A GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
5
5
5
5
21d090ec988e2b92d839148b76ce5546
On 01/03/2014 gave an Overall Rating of  4.50 4.50
Comments:

Really impressed with these tires. It does have soft side walls which i dont like, but im impressed with dry and wet handling. Snow is no big issue...have been in 6 inches of snow. Traction is very good. These tires are on a 2010 nissan rogue.

Dry Wet Snow Comfort Noise Treadwear
5
5
4
5
4
5