Hercules

Hercules Avalanche X-Treme Reviews & Ratings

out of 5
  • Dry
    4.1 out of 5
  • Wet
    4.0 out of 5
  • Winter
    4.5 out of 5
  • Comfort
    4.0 out of 5
  • Noise
    3.4 out of 5
  • Treadwear
    4.4 out of 5
  • Would you buy again?67%

9 reviews

9 on SimpleTire
J
Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 2010 4x4 Quad Cab
Verified Customer
Mar 30, 2021

Put these on my 2019 Ram 1500 4x4. I've a steep driveway and we get a ton of snow where I've. I had them studded. Traction is a non issue with these tires. Been running them for 2 winters and there's plenty of tread left in em. I'll easily get several more winters out of this set. Mine are a bit loud but thats the studs. Highly recommend

Anonymous
Verified Customer
Feb 1, 2019

We buy again

Kathi
Verified Customer
Jul 11, 2018

Love the tires, can't comment on the winter traction yet because they were put on after the last snow fall. Thinking they will be fine!

thomas
Verified Customer
May 21, 2018

these our great tires will buy again

James
Verified Customer
Dec 6, 2017

I stupidly bought these for a 2014 Forester even though Subaru does NOT recommend studs for it's vehicles. Was talked into it by a tire salesman. They grip OK and do work well in deep snow but they are godawfully LOUD. These things sound like you have an extremely bad wheel bearing and the noise is deafening. I have NEVER had this issue this bad with any other tire. They are now wasting away in my attic (replaced by all season Nokians) and will never be used on any vehicle I have again. Ever.

Aileen
Verified Customer
Nov 30, 2017

Tires work best for ice n snow..Best cheap tires I've purchased!

John
Verified Customer
Nov 15, 2017

This tire is horrible. Please read my review, take my advice and never buy this tire! First off Simple Tire is a great company so nothing against them, this review is solely for this tire. I consider myself a tire expert, I work in the auto industry and have driven on about any tire you could name. I got suckered into buying these because of the cheap price for snow tires. These tires should not be considered snow tires, they should be listed as all seasons at best. Because I've used normal all seasons that handle way better in the snow than these. Horrible snow traction all around. Light snow, Heavy, powder, slush, ice, you name it I tried it. this tire slides and gets virtually no grip while stopping. I've been stuck in light snow multiple times in these when my previous snow tires would have gotten out of it no problem at all. Every snow tire I've ever owned has a very soft, pliable rubber compound so that it grips better in snow and doesn't freeze. These tires where not made with that. These are hard as a rock, because they are cheap tires the company probably didn't want to spend the extra money to put the proper rubber to create these tires. Please heed my warning and take it from an experienced tire person, buy something else. Nitto snow tires have been great for me, as well as michelin, nokian and bridgestone. I know they cost a little more, but trust me, not sliding and wrecking your car is worth the extra little investment. I am going to try to post this review on as many sites as possible so people don't have to go through the experience I did with these.

Mike
Verified Customer
Mar 14, 2017

My car came with factory summer only 235/40R18 Goodyear Eagle F1 summer tires. I installed a wheel package with Hercules avalanche x-treme 215/50R17. The wheel size is smaller giving me a higher tire wall due to concerns of breaking the wheels in potholes. These winter tires are winter tires. They work well for me in snow. These tires are for snow-covered roads. They do well in other conditions however, I have a performance car and these tires are not performance tires. Icy roads I cannot really say how good they are I have no reference to comment. These are stud-able tires; with studs, they are most likely very good on icy roads. The winter tire compound is probably good for ice however, these tires are aggressive, they have lugs and that reduces contact with the ice surface. These tires are aggressive, best use is snow covered roads. They rumble some on clear roads but not always noticeable. Would I buy again, my zip code does not see many days with snow covered roads. I would look for an all season tire in my zone the roads are often cleared. I must say my car can exceed the speed rating of these tires they are not race tires. I like them I am happy with them they are too aggressive for my zip code in a southern Michigan city.

Carlisle
Verified Customer
Feb 18, 2016